Mar
I got myself a Raspberry Pi Model 3 B a couple of months back. I picked it up from an Australian retailer that has them pre-setup ready to run as a RetroPie: http://www.thepishop.com.au

My ultimate goal was to replace the PC used in my MAME cab with this Pi. However, the expectation was that this would be a long term project as I'm not in a hurry - the PC works great as is. It's more future proofing.

So just messing around with it, I immediately had the problem that the amount of games I wanted to pile onto the SD card far exceeded what the SD card supplied could take. So I went down a little adventure of buying a larger one, and working out how to get the image on there and expand the file system (I used to be a unix/linux sysadmin so it's not too far a stretch for me, though it was a bit more cumbersome than I had expected).

I had a few problems but the main issue I had was that when it was all up and running, the SNES games ran terribly - dropped frame rate, slowdown, and music cutting in and out. I did a bit of research and found that this can be power related (not a factor here), heat related (possible but doubt it), or something is messed up in the image (more likely as I had some trouble setting it up as I mentioned). Anyway, I lost momentum on this and it's sat in my garage gathering dust for a few months now.

Fast forward to today, and I've decided to start messing around with it again. Mainly because it's too hot to mess around in the arcade!

So my first step will be to reinstall the image and start from scratch. I'll use this thread as a bit of a repair log or working diary.

Anyone else played with these? Have you had much success? Or do you use a Pi for something entirely different?
Quote 0 0
Mar